Day 3 – Work experience with the WCIA

I started this morning off by queuing up the series of Facebook posts and tweets that I created on Monday. I was able to learn how to use Hootsuite, a new and extremely useful website that I didn’t know about before today. After finishing that off, and meeting even more members of the organisation who hadn’t been in on my first two days, I joined with Hazel as we began to plan for an event she has in mind.

Booking a place in the Vale of Glamorgan show, Hazel is aiming to have a stand to promote the UNA and the fact that this year is the UN’s International Year of Family Farming. So really, it’s the perfect place to advertise. We discussed several ideas of things we could do and I sat down to work on several projects.

The first was working on displays to let the visitors to the event know what the stand was advertising, and a bit more about family farming. I found many of the statistics on the Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations’ website extremely interesting. For example, over 500 million out of 570 million farms in the world are family owned, and they generate at least of 56% of agricultural production. The point that was made about them preserving the world agro-biodiversity by producing traditional foods was also a really valid argument.

I also worked on creating quizzes to get people at the event thinking. For the adults, I created a quiz on the United Nations with questions ranging from simple to obscure, to see how much they knew. This was a great way to also develop their knowledge into some of the facts about the UN. For the children, I really enjoyed creating a quiz, linking farm animals to places around the world. For example, one question asks where the Fayoumi chicken comes from, giving them the clue that it originates from the same place as the pyramids. It was interesting to create these quizzes as a way of seeing the vast range of ways in which there are to promote the organisation.

Today was an extremely fun day of promoting the organisation and its important aims, and got me thinking about what sort of methods of presentation would get people involved from a range of ages.


Alicia Cooke is a student and volunteer at the WCIA


